Print

Print


SignWriting Symposium
2014 Online!


40 Presentations From 12 Countries

STREAMED LIVE ON YOUTUBE JULY 21-24, 2014



1 DAY 1, July 21

WATCH PRESENTATIONS DAY 1, JULY 21 ... Go to:
https://plus.google.com/u/1/events/cvsqb9iol3gro90gvjpb0vm1m5k

8:00 PDT, 15:00 UTC, Welcome!
Day 1 Opening Message by Moderators & Valerie Sutton


8:30 PDT, 15:30 UTC, Presentation 1
“Implementation into the SWORD project of observations arising from the process of users' appropriating and adapting SignWriting” by Claudia Bianchini FRANCE & Fabrizio Borgia ITALY 


9:15 PDT, 16:15 UTC, Presentation 2
“Wöhrmann's SpeechWriting used within SignWriting Documents Teaches Deaf Students Spoken Language" by Stefan Wöhrmann GERMANY


10:00 PDT, 17:00 UTC, Presentation 3
“Ways to Write Sign Languages by Hand with SignWriting.” by Adam Frost USA


10:45 PDT, 17:45 UTC, Presentation 4
“SWift, a user-centered digital editor for SignWriting within the SWORD project.”
by Claudia Bianchini FRANCE & Fabrizio Borgia and Maria De Marsico ITALY


11:30 PDT, 18:30 UTC, Presentation 5
“The Literacy Process of Brazilian and French Deaf Children” by Marianne Stumpf BRAZIL


12:15 PDT, 19:15 UTC, Presentation 6
“Literacy in a Trilingual Context using SignWriting: the Paraguayan Experience.”
by Mirta Barreto PARAGUAY


13:00 PDT, 20:00 UTC, Presentation 7
"The Complete New Testament in Written ASL: A Decade of Writing 27 books in the  SignWriting Script" by Nancy Romero USA


13:45 PDT, 20:45 UTC, Presentation 8
“Encyclopedias in Written ASL: Writing 48 Articles for the ASL Wikipedia"
by Nancy Romero USA


4:30 PDT, 21:30 UTC, Presentation 9
"Using SignWriting to Teach Hearing American Sign Language Students:
A 10 Year Retrospective”
by Natasha Esclada-Westland USA


15:15 PDT, 22:15 UTC, Presentation 10
“Ordering Signs in Dictionaries” by Charles Butler USA & BRAZIL

2 DAY 2, July 22

WATCH PRESENTATIONS DAY 2, JULY 22 ... Go to:
https://plus.google.com/u/1/events/cd0m19049dsuv3g5oaouvs37m1k

8:00 PDT, 15:00 UTC, Welcome!
Day 2 Opening Message by Moderators & Valerie Sutton

8:30 PDT, 15:30 UTC, Presentation 11
"SignPuddle Standard For SignWriting Text" by Steve Slevinski USA

9:15 PDT, 16:15 UTC, Presentation 12
“DELEGS-Editor”: Software Tool For Teaching Deaf Students Spoken Language”
by Stefan Wöhrmann GERMANY


10:00 PDT, 17:00 UTC, Presentation 13
"Using SignWriter Studio Desktop Software" by Jonathan Duncan HONDURAS


10:45 PDT, 17:45 UTC, Presentation 14
“Alternative ISWA 2010 Fonts” by Jonathan Duncan HONDURAS


11:30 PDT, 18:30 UTC, Presentation 15
The Importance of SignWriting in Deaf Education
by Mohamed Ali Balti and Fedi Bahri and Wafa Laajili TUNISIA


2:15 PDT, 19:15 UTC, Presentation 16
“Contribution of Assistive Communication and Writing Signs for Communication with the Deaf” by Enilde Faulstich and Gláucio Castro and Patrícia Tuxi BRAZIL


13:00 PDT, 20:00 UTC, Presentation 17
“Teachers of the Deaf at the Center for Educational Support in Ipiaú and the Reading Readiness in SignWriting” by Madson Barreto and Jorgina Souza and Maria Nascimento and Tatiana Coelho BRAZIL


13:45 PDT, 20:45 UTC, Presentation 18
“Perspective of the Deaf About SignWriting in the Brazilian City Ipiau/ Bahia”
by Madson Barreto and Jorgina Souza and Maria Nascimento and Tatiana Coelho BRAZIL


14:30 PDT, 21:30 UTC, Presentation 19
"Constructing a TrueType Font for the SignWriting Script with Unicode Characters using Graphite Rendering System" by Steve Slevinski USA


15:15 PDT, 22:15 UTC, Presentation 20
“SignAnimating” by André Lemyre CANADA


3 DAY 3, July 23

WATCH PRESENTATIONS DAY 3, JULY 23 ... Go to:
https://plus.google.com/u/1/events/c127tc0ip6qe42fusb7nd5d9igc

8:00 PDT, 15:00 UTC, Welcome!
Day 3 Opening Message by Moderators & Valerie Sutton

8:30 PDT, 15:30 UTC, Presentation 21
“SignWriting App: A Useful Educational Tool” by Jake Chasan USA

9:15 PDT, 16:15 UTC, Presentation 22
“Once upon a time they wrote, now we (sign) write!” by Rafaela Silva PORTUGAL


10:00 PDT, 17:00 UTC, Presentation 23
“TuniSigner: A Virtual Avatar to Interpret SignWriting Notations”
by Yosra Bouzid and Mohamed Jemni TUNISIA


10:45 PDT, 17:45 UTC, Presentation 24
“SignWriting in Brazilian Deaf Education: 1996 to present"
by Marianne Stumpf and Madson Barreto BRAZIL


11:30 PDT, 18:30 UTC, Presentation 25
“Aspects of reading and SignWriting: case studies with deaf children &
adult college students deaf & learning.”
by Débora Wanderley BRAZIL


12:15 PDT, 19:15 UTC, Presentation 26
“Teaching and Learning SignWriting in an Online Course: Experiences of the  Teacher and Students”by Madson Barreto and Silvana Pereira and Eva Barbosa BRAZIL


13:00 PDT, 20:00 UTC, Presentation 27
“Magic Behind the Cams: Teaching SignWriting in an Online Course”
by Madson Barreto and Gilberto Goulart BRAZIL


13:45 PDT, 20:45 UTC, Presentation 28
“Writing Bodies, Blurring Boundaries: SignWriting practices reflecting and producing new analyses of language" by Erika Hoffmann-Dilloway USA


14:30 PDT, 21:30 UTC, Presentation 29
“Why Should We Implement SignWriting As A Pilot Program in Deaf Schools?” by Denny Voreck USA


15:15 PDT, 22:15 UTC, Presentation 30
“Presenting the SignWriting App to Deaf Students in Germany and Hearing Students in San Diego” by Elena Eroshkin USA


4 DAY 4, July 24

WATCH PRESENTATIONS DAY 4, JULY 24 ... Go to:
https://plus.google.com/u/1/events/c8oi8bdd2sia6gaoe21m95no5b8

8:00 PDT, 15:00 UTC, Welcome!
Day 4 Opening Message by Moderators & Valerie Sutton

8:30 PDT, 15:30 UTC, Presentation 31
"Digital Collaboration with Machine-Readable Sign Language Text in the
SignWriting Script"
by Steve Slevinski USA

9:15 PDT, 16:15 UTC, Presentation 32
“The relevance of SignWriting as a way of transcribing the phonology of Sign Languages”
by Roberto Costa and Madson Barreto BRAZIL


10:00 PDT, 17:00 UTC, Presentation 33
“A proposal for the recognition of handwritten SignWriting for the SWORD project”
by Fabrizio Borgia and Maria De Marsico ITALY 


10:45 PDT, 17:45 UTC, Presentation 34
“ZNAKOPIS/ GIBOPIS (English: SignWriting) in Roman Catholic Liturgy”
by Edi Strouhal SLOVENIA


11:30 PDT, 18:30 UTC, Presentation 35
“Escrita de Sinais sem mistérios” the First Brazilian Book Teaching SignWriting”
by Madson Barreto and Raquel Barreto BRAZIL


12:15 PDT, 19:15 UTC, Presentation 36
“Linguistic terminological productivity between Brazilian Sign Language (LIBRAS) and SignWriting” by Vera Lima and Madson Barreto BRAZIL

13:00 PDT, 20:00 UTC, Presentation 37
“Translation into SignWriting of abstracts from doctorate dissertations, master theses and papers: a new paradigm”
by Madson Barreto and Pedro Oliveira and Raquel Barreto BRAZIL


13:45 PDT, 20:45 UTC, Presentation 38
“Thoughts on Sutton SignWriting as Musical Notation” by Ron Shalom USA


14:30 PDT, 21:30 UTC, Presentation 39
“The contribution of the written form (SignWriting) of sign languages to the field of sign linguistics: The case of writing Maltese Sign Language (LSM): pointing signs and pronominals.” by Maria Galea MALTA


15:15 PDT, 22:15 UTC, Presentation 40
“40 Years Writing Sign Languages: Evolution of the SignWriting Script 1974-2014” by Valerie Sutton USA


16:00 PDT, 23:00 UTC, Thank You!
Day 4 Closing Message by Moderators & Valerie Sutton


For more information about the SignWriting Symposium:

Valerie Sutton
SWS-2014 Chair

Steve Slevinski
SWS-2014 Chair

Adam Frost
SWS-2014 Chair

SignWriting Symposium
[log in to unmask]

SignWriting Symposium Home Page
http://www.signwriting.org/symposium/2014

SignWriting For Sign Languages on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/user/signwriting

SignWriting For Sign Languages on Google+
https://plus.google.com/+SignWritingOrg

________________________________________________

SIGNWRITING LIST INFORMATION

Valerie Sutton SignWriting List moderator [log in to unmask]

Post Messages to the SignWriting List: [log in to unmask]

SignWriting List Archives & Home Page http://www.signwriting.org/forums/swlist

Join, Leave or Change How You Receive SW List Messages http://listserv.valenciacollege.edu/cgi-bin/wa?SUBED1=SW-L&A=1